Tags

, , ,

And I thought I’d be a hero
The one and very best
With my rifle and an S on my chest
They’d talk about me in fables
And write of my success
And then I would be able
To run away with my mistress

I tried to show off with my pistols
Tried to bluff my way to the cheap thrills
She said you’ll never be a man holding a gun
Another boy attached to a weapon
Just a soldier with too many refills
Of death eaters hot from the last kill
She said go find your peace
Give it more than a week
Real strength comes from beneath
Sensitivity is not weak

~Refrain~
Journeys so far gone
Life just moves on
More lessons for the ages
We find where we belong

This little speck we call the world
Seems so much to bear
But we just struggle on
Cause it’s all a big adventure

I returned to her bedside
She got sick between the war
I can’t remember which one
They’re all the same anyway
She said she liked my medals
The ones for bravery
I gave her a purple heart
So she’d come back to me

But the fates are so twisted
She died with fulsome grace
My purple love is distant
But I still see her face
As she walks with angels
I’m glad she went in peace

~Refrain~
Journeys so far gone
Life just moves on
More lessons for the ages
We find where we belong

She said go find your peace
Sensitivity is not weak
I threw away the guns
And kept our memories

